A new feature has been posted last week: Visibility of teams.
This feature is switched off by default. If you are the owner of the workspace, you can be activate it if you go to “Participants” in your workspace. Above the teams and the single users is a field stating “Extended team visibility is currently disabled”. If you activate the feature you can determine who can see whom in the workspace.
In which situations this feature is useful?
A very common situation where this feature is used is a recruitment process. The employer as the owner of the workspace can see all the applicants but the applicants cannot see each other.
Another use case is competitive situations.
Example 1: you have invited several companies which pitch for a supply contract.
Example 2: you are the owner of a company which you want to sell. You have invited a number of bidders who are interested to acquire the company. You want to make sure that you can see all the bidders but that the bidders can’t see each other.
Example 3: You want to take out a loan. You have invited a number of banks which are pitching for the financing. You can see all the banks but the banks cannot see each other.
Finally you can use this also as a continuing file. In all situations where you are collecting certain data from a number of different people, Such as addresses, company profiles, you can invite them to the same workspace, making sure that there privacy is preserved even though the workspace is Populated with a big number of other participants.
If you want to use the feature of restrictive visibility You typically will have to allocate to each team its own section or subsection to work with you. Because if you let them work on the same section, You’re not able to properly allocate the relevant deal for each of them, as they will communicate with you all on the same cards.
In order to make sure that each participant can see only his section or subsection you must make sure when inviting them that they can see only their respective subsection.
How do I achieve this?
When I invite the participants I will take them all rights and in a second step I go to the headcard of the relevant section or subsection and provide them there with the right to see and write and if I want to, also with the right to create cards. This way you make sure, that each participant works only in its own subsection and he can only see its subsection and not the relevant subsections of the other participants.
Contact us if you have any questions.